2012-12 Minutes

12/05/2012 11:30

December 4, 2012
The December meeting of the Hill ‘n Hollow Master Gardeners was held at 6:30 PM at the Newton County Extension Office. Master Gardeners and their guests enjoyed a delicious meal, with smoked turkey, green beans, and gravy provided by Bill Andrews and sides and desserts provided by club members.  The meeting was called to order at 7:11 PM by President Gordon Spencer with 27 present.
SECRETARY’S REPORT: November’s minutes were e-mailed to members and posted on the website. A motion was M/S/C to approve the November minutes.
TREASURER’S REPORT: The bank balance as of December 4, 2012, was $3,300.02, excluding outstanding receipts. A motion was M/S/C to accept the treasurer’s report.
GOLDEN LIVING CENTER UPDATE:  Any Master Gardener is free to go by the nursing home and work on the gardens in the back by the Alzheimer’s unit.  They are full of Bermuda grass.  It was suggested that a work party be arranged after the holidays and before spring, but nothing was scheduled during the meeting.
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Rookie of the Year ballots were passed out and members cast their votes.  Results will be announced at the February 2013 meeting.
ABOVE AND BEYOND AWARD:  Bill Andrews received the Above and Beyond Award.  Thank you, Bill, for your dedicated service to the Master Gardeners and to making Newton and MacDonald counties more beautiful places to live!
THANK YOU, JOHN: Club members also presented John Hobbs with a gift basket and gift certificate.  We’re extremely grateful for all the hard work he does in public and behind the scenes to make our projects and events successful. 
OFFICERS BALLOT:  The Officers Ballot for 2013 was presented and approved.  Next year’s officers are: Jutta McCormick, President; Beverly Caywood, Vice President; Lynn Fleshman, Secretary; and Sherry McBride, Treasurer.

The next meeting of the Hill ‘N Hollow Master Gardeners will take place at the Newton County Extension Office on Tuesday, February 5, at 6:30 PM.
The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 PM by new club president, Jutta McCormick.
Submitted by:
Lynn Fleshman
Lynn Fleshman, Secretary